C4C’s goal is to create a participatory, open knowledge platform that engages youth in a global climate change conversation to drive local action.

C4C has just launched Action4Climate: a new global competition for the best environmental documentary on climate change.

ACTION4CLIMATE invites young aspiring filmmakers to produce and submit a 1-12 minute video
documentary telling a story about climate change.

How is climate change impacting your community?
What are you doing about it?
What needs to be done to solve the climate challenge?

The competition is open to young filmmakers from all over the world (individuals and
teams of 5 or less) in two age groups:14–17 and 18–35.

Award-winning film directors and producers, and international organization representatives will select the winning entries:

· Bernardo Bertolucci – President of the Jury· Atom Egoyan

· Marc Forster

· Mika Kaurismaki

· Rose Kuo

· Rachel Kyte

· Cynthia López

· Fernando Meirelles

· Mira Nair

· Bob Rafelson

· Walter Salles

· Pablo Trapero

· Wim Wenders

The winners will be awarded with cash prizes up to US$15000 or video equipment.
Winning films will go to major film festivals and will be featured on the new MTV Voices platform.

The deadline for submissions is February 15, 2014.

If you believe the Action4Climate competition would be of interest to your students, we would be thrilled if you encouraged them to participate in this effort to amplify youth voices on climate change.

For more information about the competition, please see the attached one pager and links.